Infertility Awareness Week Part 2

So I have been a bit of a bad blogger & blog reader this week as I have been concentrating on various discussions elsewhere in my computer on infertility awareness as part of Infertility Awareness Week.  Thus the biggest thing I have learnt this week is that it appears that there is only so much time per day you can spend online and carry out your normal life!

It’s been an eye opener at the reactions some people have to infertility & it’s treatment, I am genuinely shocked at the lack of empathy out there.   It’s also been an education as to how people deal with it, and the impact it has on their lives.   It has also been a great inspiration for future blog posts.

Whilst online I have been very active in talking about infertility I am ashamed to say in real life I have done nothing this week to be more open. Mainly because it’s not been appropriate and I have decided that that is the key to making talking about infertility not a taboo.  Making infertility not taboo doesn’t mean talking about infertility all the time it means talking about it at appropriate moments. When it should be mentioned do but there is no need to randomly mention it, unless of course you wish to! (MsFertilty I’m looking at you and your queue discussions!).

I embraced this yesterday we popped in to visit some friends and they asked outright where we were and where we were up to, so we told them.  They asked more questions, we shared more details than maybe we should have but no one felt uncomfortable and they are good friends.  Now they know exactly how an embryo gets back into the womb post fertilization in a test tube and I am sure they feel better for knowing that!  I on the other hand am not so convinced by their business plan thoughts of possibly trying a diy version in the garage to make the whole process cheaper for us infertiles, and possibly making them rich!!

About thebarrenyears

I'm a 30 something girl trying and failing to get pregnant.
This entry was posted in Infertile Madness, Infertility, IVF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Infertility Awareness Week Part 2

  1. Jeanette says:

    I did a whole lot of nothing in trying to raise awareness. Yes, that right I suck. Right now dealing with my own and my newness to the blogging world in general is about as much as I can handle. I hope to get there though.

    • Mwah it’ll come I don’t think there’s any need and given the reaction elsewhere on the web I can see why people don’t talk about it!
      Hope you’re ok it’s a crap journey x

  2. LovedOne says:

    What courage you have in speaking out about infertility. It is unfortunately a topic that not many have empathy or understand. Thanks for sharing your journey!

  3. swankylady says:

    Just wanted to pop in to say I love your blog and I gave you an award! Check it out here: http://cysticandoptimistic.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

