Make like an Ostrich

Hello poor neglected blog, I feel like one of those people who blogs until they get upduffed and then jump ship.  I can assure you I haven’t I have just been burying my head deep deep deep somewhere and getting through the days by managing to wake up pregnant and go to bed pregnant.  I have also been a Games Maker at the Olympics which was a very good distraction technique and made me admit to people every day that I was actually pregnant, something I am finding hard to do.

So we have now had our 20 week scan and so far still so good, friends have given us a cot and at some point I will have to admit that we are maybe actually going to finally have a baby!  I still can’t quite bring myself to believe that it won’t go wrong at some point.  My anxiety is something that I am working on, and I think every medical person I have dealt with is also aware of exactly how worried I am.  At first I was embarrassed by this, now I am embracing it, if it means people are gentler with us, humour my concerns or take longer over our scan showing us why there is nothing to worry about it is all good!

People have been lovely but you know those friends that never mentioned your fertility issues or disappeared as soon as you admitted you were having issues, well they are now appearing back in our lives.  Villa Boy doesn’t do grudges so hasn’t really noticed,  me I have to admit to feeling a slight resentment at their reappearance now everything in life is working as it should.  It is probably this that has led me to tell almost anyone and everyone that I mention my pregnancy too that it is an IVF pregnancy.  I am not sure why I feel the need to do this but it comes out very easily and the more I say it the more important I feel it is to mention it.

So life is obviously good, pregnancy is everything I thought it would be and a few things I never imagined!

About thebarrenyears

I'm a 30 something girl trying and failing to get pregnant.
This entry was posted in About me, Infertility, IVF, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Make like an Ostrich

  1. What is your due date? I think it must be around the same time as ours which is 15th Jan.

    We worry a lot too, but after out twenty week scan we are slowly starting to relax.

    Infertility King

  2. I wear my battle scars with pride. You are too.

    You should be proud of everything you have done to get pregnant. It shows you are a committed person and work hard for what you want in life.

  3. I’m glad it is going well – hang on in there and fingers and toes crossed for you all xxx

  4. I LOVE this post! I am so glad you are sharing your story. People don’t seem to hesitate to ask “When will you two have kids?” but when you give them the truth, “We are working with a fertility clinic at the moment” they put a strange expression on their face and back away from the topic.
    You are in my thoughts often! Your happiness makes me smile!

  5. How are you and Villa boy going? Not long to go for you now, I believe you guys must be due around the 7th January? The final count down begins 🙂

Leave a Reply

